© Copyright Herne Bay United 2011

Follow us on Facebook

National Cup Glory as the Youth Academy carry the Flag for United!

Posted by HBU Admin on July 3, 2012

The National Roller Hockey Cup Finals took place this week, with the Bay Arena the venue.
The day consisted of six finals with Herne Bay United reaching two of them, competing in the U 11 and U13 finals. In both of the categories the opponents were the Eastern Counties Club- Cottenham.








The U11 Final saw HBU face the team who had knocked out Herne Bay in the Semi’s. Expecting a tough battle HBU began the game strongly and established a lead in the opening couple of minutes following some good team play Sian Emslie scored to put the local side 1-0. Cotttenham’s game plan was to give the ball to one of their players and follow up on his strong shots. HBU defended from the front and this reduced the Cottenham attack to speculative shots and also allowed HBU to attack on the break and further goals from Luke Huckstepp and George Daly(2) saw HBU go in at half time with a 4-0 lead.
The second half saw Cottenham create more chances and following a relatively quiet first half, ‘keeper Jamie Leonard pulled off a number of excellent saves to maintain the lead. This again allowed HBU to catch their opposition on the break, with Louis Clarke and Max Bassom defending strongly HBU were able to score further goals(and miss a few chances also) through Archie Isaacks, George, Sian and Noah Latham. HBU winners 9-0.
A good game with HBU playing well and surprising their opponents. A special mention for Harrison Raven, who was unable to make the final due to prior commitments.
Squad: Jamie Leonard (GK), (C) George Daly(4), Sian Emslie(2), Luke Huckstepp(1), Noah Latham(1), Max Bassom, Archie Isaacs(1) Louis Clarke,
HBU Man of the match was Jamie Leonard who when called into action denied Cottenham the goal they were looking for.
The 2nd final HBU against Cottenham, this time in the U13 category. HBU had beaten this team earlier in the season & the games were close until late on when HBU secured victory.
In the opening seconds HBU started a little slowly, conceding a free hit with less than 10 seconds gone following a misplaced pass. Jamie McVey intercepted the Cottenham free hit and scored 12 seconds into the game, this put Cottenham on the back foot and a little over a minute later Will Parkinson-Wellard added a second and Cottenham were facing an uphill battle.
The game settled down with HBUs defence holding firm and goal Keeper Rhys Young keeping his concentration to ensure Cottenham remained without a goal.
Mid way in the first half, with Oli Hudson providing the assist, George Daly added a third and further goals from Jamie(2) and Will meant the half time score 6-0, with the only negative a loose shot that hit Josh Butcher on the head.

With Josh recovered the team began the second half strongly and 2 early goals from Josh not only showed he had no lingering effects from the blow to his head, but removed any thoughts of a Cottenham comeback following a couple of goals. Late goals from Jamie, George and Josh and good saves from ‘2nd keeper Ishen meant the final score was 11-2 to HBU.
This game showed the improvements that this team have made over the season and included three under 11 players, Luke, Noah & George who had earlier in the day competed in the U11 final. Owain Stedman and Amelia Parkinson Wellard were unable to make the final due to prior commitments.
A good day’s play for HBU.
Squad: Rhys Young, Ishen Kiff (GKs), (C) Jamie McVey(4), Josh Butcher(3), Will Parkinson Wellard(2), Oliver Hudson, George Daly(2), Noah Latham, Luke Huckstepp.
Following the day’s matches, the National Awards for individual players took place with guest presenters Carlos Graca (European President), Luis Rei and Carlos Amaral alongside NRHA President Keith Allen, where HBU 2nd team were presented with National Division 1 runners up medals. Louis Greenwood as part of the National U17 side was presented with a special achievement award, George Daly won the U11 Player of the Year award and Brendan Barker was presented with the Henry Chrystall Player of the Year award.