© Copyright Herne Bay United 2011

Follow us on Facebook

Roller Hockey: SECHRA Under 13’s make it 3 out of 3!

Posted by HBU Admin on January 7, 2014

HBU U/13 SECRHA REPORT “HBU U13’s Great Start to the New Year’’ “The Herne Bay United U13 team proved to be unbeatable this weekend when competing in the South Eastern Counties Roller Hockey tournament at the Bay Arena.
It was an early start at 8am for our players with the first game against Invicta RHC. It took a while for the team to get going but they soon began to dominate the play and score goals. However, a momentary lack of concentration allowed Invicta to get on the score sheet. The match finished off with a 6 – 1 win for the home team HBU. The second game was against local rivals Herne Bay. HBU were now wide awake and much more organised during the game and scored from the start. However, this freedom to score meant that the players began to lose their shape and discipline towards the end of the first half. A quick team talk at half-time and they came out looking to pressure Herne Bay even more. The more experienced HBU team players managed to all get on the score sheet winning the game 10 – 0.
Our final match of the morning was against Maidstone who had been strong opposition last time out. Unfortunately for them, HBU had found their form and most of the game remained in the Maidstone half. Maidstone defended well and their young keeper made some great saves. However, they soon tired from the pressure and HBU began to score at will. Against the run of play HBU conceded a penalty.
Our goalkeeper Harrison Raven made a great save to keep a clean sheet once again. With just 20 seconds to go, HBU captain George Daly broke free for a one-on-one attack with the young Maidstone goalkeeper. It was a great save which brought a tremendous reception from the watching crowd. HBU finished 12 – 0 winners.
Another 3 out of 3 wins for HBU which leaves them undefeated leaders of the League.”

Team: Harrison Raven (gk), Max Bassom, George Daly, Archie Isaaks, Noah Latham, Luke Huckstepp.